Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

Sweden moving further towards Bologna structure

Starting with the 2007 academic year, Swedish universities will switch to a new degree structure closer to the Bologna one and adopt the ECTS credit system. The minister of education and culture Leif Pagrotsky announced the government's decision on 21st June 2006 arguing that "these changes will improve the quality and boost the internationalisation of Swedish higher education".

The changes conform to the Bologna three-tier structure (Bacelor, Master, Phd); however, subqualifications are proposed within each level of study:

  • At the bachelor level, there are two degree options: the 'högskoleexamen', achievable after two years of study, and the 'kandidatexamen', or bachelor's degree, achievable after three years.
  • At the advanced level of study (Master), there are also two degree options: The 'masterexamen', or master's degree, which students can obtain after the bachelor, and the 'magisterexamen', which corresponds to the current post-graduate degree offered by Swedish universities, though it will now be limited to one-year study programmes.
  • At the PhD level of study, students are eligible for a 'licentiatexamen', after two years of research, and a doctorate, 'doktorsexamen', after fours years of research.
New degree structure for Swedish higher education