Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

Margret Wintermantel new President of DAAD

On 21 June, the General Assembly of German ACA member DAAD elected Margret Wintermantel as their new President. Joybrato Mukherjee will be DAAD’s new vice-president. Both will take office on 1 January 2012. Margret Wintermantel succeeds Sabine Kunst, who became the state of Brandenburg’s education minister in February 2011. Joybrato Mukherjee will be the successor of long-standing DAAD Vice President Max Huber, who is currently also acting president.

Margret Wintermantel, a psychologist, has been the president of the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK) since 2006 and was previously the president of Saarland University. The second-ever female president of DAAD, she is also a member of the board of the European University Association (EUA). Joybrato Mukherjee, a linguist, is one of the youngest German university presidents ever. At the age of 36, he became the president of the University of Giessen in 2009.  We wish both success and luck for the important tasks ahead of them.

The DAAD General Assembly also elected 12 new board members, including three student representatives.

German Academic Exchange Service - DAAD