Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

Georgia & Armenia join Horizon 2020 – access to new opportunities for innovators and researches

European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, Carlos Moedas and Georgian Minister for Education and Science, Tamar Sanikidze have signed on April 29, the agreement associating Georgia to Horizon 2020. Levon Mkrtchyan, Armenian Minister for Education and Science and Carlos Moedas set Armenia’s association in stone on 19 May.   

Extending Horizon 2020 to Georgia and Armenia signifies the EU’s concrete commitment to develop the scientific and innovation capacity of the countries, to cultivate closer political and economic integration and to mutually benefit from diversity, expertise and ideas that will enrich international research cooperation.

Georgia and Armenia had participated in Horizon 2020, the largest multinational program dedicated to research and innovation, as a third country and will now participate under the same conditions as their EU member state counterparts and other associated countries – opening up new opportunities for universities, research institutions and enterprises for the years 2016-2020.

Georgia is already partaking in eight Horizon 2020 projects and Armenia in five, and under the programmes predecessor – Seventh framework programme (2007-13) - Georgian organisations were involved in 49 initiatives, Armenia in 35 signed projects.

European Commission - Press release (Georgia)
European Commission - Press release (Armenia)