Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

First German-Spanish Science Award recipients named

The DAAD and have jointly awarded the first-ever German-Spanish Science Award to outstanding young scholars from Germany and Spain. Cornelia Pieper, Minister of State at the German Federal Foreign Office and Ángel Gabilondo, Spanish Minister of Education, presided over the award ceremony at the “Residencia de Estudiantes” in Madrid on 18 June 2010.

The recipients of the 2010 award are Spanish contemporary historian Dr. Carlos Sanz and German jurist Dr. Mirja Feldmann. The award includes a cash prize of EUR 5 000 for both scholars and provides a scholarship for a one-month research stay in Germany for Sanz and Spain for Feldmann. The German-Spanish Science Award will be tendered yearly in different research areas and the venue for the award ceremony with alternate yearly between Spain and Germany. This initiative is financed by the German Federal Foreign Office and the Spanish Government and is named after Spanish jurist and philosopher Julián Sanz del Rio (1814-1869).