Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

ESF announces winners of the 2006 European Young Investigator Award

A total of 25 researchers have been selected as the winners of the 2006 European Young Investigator Awards (EURYI). Each winner will receive up to 1.25 million Euro over a five year period for conducting research in Europe.

The EURYI award was created in 2003 by the European Heads of Research Councils (EUROHORCs) in collaboration with the European Science Foundation (ESF), with the aim of attracting outstanding scientists from all over the world to carry out research in European research centres. Candidates are selected on the basis of their future potential and their academic and research excellence. Selection takes place first at national level and then at the international level by high-level scientific panels managed by the ESF.

ESF is in charge of the coordination and selection processes of EURYI and it is supported by funds from the European Commission’s Framework Programme 6. The 2006 awardees, who were chosen out of a total of 457 applicants, will be based in eleven countries: Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

For a list of names and project titles, please visit the link below.

2006 EURYI winners