Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

Commonwealth scholarships reinstated

Good news for students from the Commonwealth countries: from 2009, the Commonwealth scholarships will be available again for students coming from all Commonwealth member states. In March, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office had decided to cut funding for students from the more developed Commonwealth countries, namely Australia, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, Malta, New Zeeland, Singapore and the Bahamas. Students from these countries were no longer eligible to apply for this type of scholarships.

As a result of a new arrangement between the British universities and the UK Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills (DIUS), the awards for the countries in question have been restored. The scholarships are, however, limited to the doctoral level. The awards will be co-funded by the UK universities.

The long tradition of Commonwealth scholarships is thus no longer endangered. A list of all the participating British universities in this initiative will be available online at the beginning of November.

Commonwealth Scholarships Commission