Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

Benelux-Baltic HE degree recognition treaty celebrated in Brussels

On 13 May 2024, experts and ministers from the Benelux and the Baltic states gathered in Brussels to mark the entry into force of the Treaty on the Automatic Recognition of Higher Education Qualifications. The treaty, which covers Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, ensures that higher education degrees from these countries are automatically recognised across the two regions 

The treaty is seen as a significant step towards fostering an inclusive European higher education space. By guaranteeing automatic recognition of diplomas, the agreement eliminates lengthy and costly recognition procedures, facilitating thus smoother transitions for students. Ministers from the signatory states have urged other European Higher Education Area countries to join this initiative to further strengthen the quality and competitiveness of European higher education. 

The celebration also highlighted the treaty's potential to enhance cooperation and trust among member states. The initiative, which began in 2019 (for more details on the process, see ACA Newsletter - Education Europe, October 2021), reflects a collective effort to build a more integrated and dynamic higher education community in Europe. With the treaty now in force, the Benelux and Baltic states hope to lead the way in promoting seamless academic and professional mobility across the continent. 

Read more here