Stay in the loop! Subscribe to our mailing list

ACA member AVCC becomes Universities Australia

In the midst of a new constitution, the Australian Vice-Chancellors’ Committee (AVCC), one of ACA's associate members has become Universities Australia. Former AVCC President Professor Gerard Sutton will become the Chair of Universities Australia. The Vice-Chancellors' Committee was integrated by 38 Australian universities seeking to advance higher education through voluntary, cooperative and coordinated action. All existing members of the AVCC are inaugural members of Universities Australia. Vice-Chancellors as university CEOs will represent their universities at Universities Australia meetings and on its UA Board. Universities Australia will take over the Committee's work at assisting Vice-Chancellors in the performance of their university responsibilities, providing a platform for discussion on higher education issues, with the addition of a new focus on advocacy for higher education in the public interest, both nationally and internationally. The change to Universities Australia and change in direction has been strongly endorsed by the university sector. Press release
Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee